

Agenda

Human Rights Commission

Date: November 17, 2022 **Time:** 5:30 pm – 7:30 pm

Study Session: 5:30 PM – 6:30 PM Business Meeting: 6:30 PM – 7:30 PM

Location: Hybrid Tacoma Municipal Building 747 Market Street

747 Market Street Conference Room #243 Tacoma, WA 98402

Zoom (Click the following link to join the meeting):

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/81908915518

Meeting ID: 819 0891 5518

STUDY SESSION 5:30 PM – 6:30 PM

BUSINESS MEETING AGENDA 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM

☐ Keshreeyaji Oswal

I.	Call Meeting to Order – Chair Andre Jimenez
II.	Record of Attendance and Excusal of Absences

Record of Attendance and Excusal of Absences ☐ Chair Jimenez ☐ Amanda Westbrooke (Vice-Chair) ☐ Courtney Acoff

☐ Mason Culbertson (Vice-Chair) ☐ Janice Langbehn

☐ C. Ivan Johnson ☐ Laurie Lynch

 \square Melvin JR Nobles \square Ronita Boullt

☐ Norman Brickhouse ☐ Verda Washington

☐ Robbi Johnston

☐ Artyom Yakimovich

III. Approval of Business Meeting Agenda – Chair Andre Jimenez

IV. Statement of Purpose – Vice Chair Westbrooke

Commissioners

Andre Jimenez Amanda Westrbooke Artyom Yakimovich C. Ivan Johnson Courtney Acoff Janice Langbehn Keshreeyaji Oswal Verda Washington Laurie Lynch Mason Culbertson Melvin JR Nobles Norman Brickhouse Robbie Johnston Verda Washington We convene this meeting to study and investigate problems of prejudice, bigotry, and discrimination and to encourage and coordinate the implementation of programs consistent with the needs and rights of all residents of the City of Tacoma.

V. Land Acknowledgment – Vice Chair Culbertson

The Commission acknowledges that the meeting is being conducted on Indigenous lands of the Puyallup People, who cared for their ancestral lands before the Medicine Creek Treaty of 1854 removed native peoples to clear way for colonial settlement. It is important to this Commission as settlers here, aspiring to care for all residents in this place and to call it home, that we acknowledge and send gratitude to the Puyallup Tribe of Indians who continue to be leaders for justice in our community today.

VI. Consent Agenda – Chair Jimenez

- a. Approval of October 2022 Meeting Agenda (Aye/Nay Votes)
- b. Approval of November 2022 Special Meeting Minutes (Aye/Nay Votes)

VII. Public Comment (2 minutes per speaker)

VIII. Commission Affairs

- a) Committee Updates and Overview of work. Please include the next meeting date and time.
 - Housing Equity Committee
 - Outreach and Education
 - Policy and Advocacy Committee
 - Racial Justice and Equity Committee
- b) 2023 Commissioner Recruitment
 - a. Review of Current Roster and Dates of Term End
- c) Nominations for Chair and First and Second Vice-Chair (2023)
- d) Retreat

IX. City Staff Updates – Liaison Nancy and Russ

- a. Meeting Format use of Zoom Webinar going forward
- b. Case Closures
- c. Recruitment for Open Staff Positions

X. Announcements

XI. Items to Consider for Next Meeting:

XII. Adjourn

Commissioners

Andre Jimenez Amanda Westrbooke Artyom Yakimovich C. Ivan Johnson Courtney Acoff Janice Langbehn Keshreeyaji Oswal

Why do we recognize the land?

To recognize the land is an expression of gratitude and appreciation to those whose territory you reside on, and a way of honoring the Indigenous people who have been living and working on the land from time immemorial. It is important to understand the long-standing history that has brought you to reside on the land, and to seek to understand your place within that history. Land acknowledgements do not exist in a past tense, or historical context: colonialism is a current ongoing process, and we need to build our mindfulness of our present participation. It is also worth noting that acknowledging the land is Indigenous protocol.

-http://www.lspirg.org/knowtheland



The City of Tacoma does not discriminate on the basis of disability in any of its programs, activities, or services. To request this information in an alternative format or to request a reasonable accommodation, please contact the City Clerk's Office at (253) 591-5505. TTY or speech to speech users please dial 711 to connect to Washington Relay Services.

NOTES	

Commissioners

Andre Jimenez Amanda Westrbooke Artyom Yakimovich C. Ivan Johnson Courtney Acoff Janice Langbehn Keshreeyaji Oswal